Liquid Clothes Wash

P1050301

This is for anyone interested in a less-toxic clothes washing solution and also good for those who want to move away highly scented formulas.  A friend of mine’s daughter still suffers from croup and this is made worse by highly scented powders and conditioners.

Due to lack of emulsifying agents, this mixture isn’t uniform in appearance and needs a good shake before pouring.  I put it in an ‘in the drum’ jug that I sent away from one of the big soap corporations.   (Can’t remember which one now.)  I’ve been making this mixture for over a year now.  It’s really the reason I want to make my own version of Dr Bronner’s liquid soap to use as part of this recipe.  But I will do it… just not now.

Ingredients

  • 1 mug of soda crystals (generally £1) in most supermarkets
  • 2 mugs, just boiled hot water
  • 1 mug of bicarbonate of soda
  • 100ml castile soap, scented (Your favourite Dr Bronner’s.  It is the only one I have found that works.)

Method

Get a large plastic jug and put the soda crystals and hot water and whisk with a whisk.  Dissolving as much as possible.  Then add the bicarbonate of soda and whisk vigorously.  Once combined, add the castile soap and whisk again.  Done.

I then pour into an empty, plastic milk carton, 2L in size.  It will only come up about halfway up the bottle, but when left alone this mixture really thickens, so one needs to shake it vigorously again.  However, if too thick add a little warm water.  I add about 100ml per load.

Leave a comment